LABI Logo Get Involved

LABI Announces 2022 Free Enterprise Award Winners

October 25, 2022

Baton Rouge, LA (October 25, 2022) – The Louisiana Association of Business and Industry (LABI) announced its 2022 Free Enterprise Award winners. These annual awards recognize LABI members who demonstrate exemplary commitment and contributions to the state’s business climate and their local communities. The winners will be honored on Thursday, November 10, at the 2022 Free Enterprise Awards: Business and Boots, presented by b1BANK. The 2022 LABI Legislative Scorecard MVPs, All-Stars and Honorable Mentions will also be recognized for their support of a competitive business climate during this year’s Legislative session. 

“The Free Enterprise Awards are a chance for us to celebrate the job creators and changemakers that are making Louisiana a better place to work, live and raise a family,” said LABI President and CEO Stephen Waguespack. “Each of this year’s winners have made a profound impact on the Louisiana business community, and we are proud to honor their service. We are also looking forward to honoring those legislators who stood with the business community throughout the 2022 Legislative session.” 

The 2022 Free Enterprise Awards: Business and Boots will be held at the LABI Center for Free Enterprise at 500 Main Street in downtown Baton Rouge and will begin at 6:00 p.m. The celebration will continue with food, drinks and live entertainment by local favorite, country band Parish County Line. For tickets or more information, click HERE. 

The 2022 LABI Free Enterprise Awards recipients are as follows:  

The Ed Steimel Achievement Award honors long-standing membership and service to LABI and recognizes individuals who have committed extraordinary time and effort to improve the quality of life in Louisiana. 

  • E. Fredrick Preis, Jr., Partner, Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson

Company of the Year Award recognizes outstanding achievement among Louisiana companies. 

  • Large Company of the Year:  Amazon
  • Small Company of the Year: Gulf Coast Bank & Trust Company

Businessperson of the Year and Young Businessperson of the Year are individuals who demonstrate exemplary commitment and contributions to the state’s business climate and their local communities. 

  • Businessperson of the Year: Terry Baugh, CFO, D & J Construction
  • Young Businessperson of the Year: Jacob Landry, Founder and President, Urban South Brewing

Manufacturer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding achievement among Louisiana manufacturers. 

  • Large Manufacturer of the Year: BASF Corporation
  • Small Manufacturer of the Year: Elmer Candy Corporation

The Workforce Innovator Award honors individuals or organizations that have provided substantial contributions to workforce development in Louisiana. The award recognizes those who have excelled in creating, implementing, or supporting a high-caliber education or workforce development initiative aligned with closing the employment gap. 

  • Workforce Innovator: Ochsner Health

Economic Development Partner of the Year Award recognizes exceptional leadership by an economic development or business organization. 

  • Economic Development Partner of the Year: Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce

Also on November 10, LABI will honor those legislators recognized in the LABI Annual Scorecard as “Most Valuable Policymakers” (MVPs), All-Stars and Honorable Mentions for their support of pro-business legislation during the Louisiana Legislature’s 2022 session. 

Forty legislators were named as “Most Valuable Policymakers” (MVPs), scoring a perfect 100 percent on bills important to LABI and the state’s business community during the 2021 legislative session.  

Sen. Bret Allain (District 21) 

Sen. Heather Cloud (District 28) 

Sen. Sharon Hewitt (District 1) 

Sen. Robert Mills (District 36) 

Sen. Beth Mizell (District 12) 

Rep. Beau Beaullieu (District 48) 

Rep. Ryan Bourriaque (District 47) 

Rep. Rhonda Butler (District 38) 

Rep. Dewith Carrier (District 32) 

Rep. Jean-Paul Coussan (District 45) 

Rep. Paula Davis (District 69) 

Rep. Phillip DeVillier (District 41) 

Rep. Mary DuBuisson (District 90) 

Rep. Rick Edmonds (District 66) 

Rep. Gabe Firment (District 22) 

Rep. Bryan Fontenot (District 55) 

Rep. Barbara Freiberg (District 70) 

Rep. Foy Gadberry (District 15) 

Rep. Ray Garofalo (District 103) 

Rep. Jonathan Goudeau (District 31) 

Rep. Mike Huval (District 46) 

Rep. John Illg (District 78) 

Rep. Barry Ivey (District 65) 

Rep. Mike Johnson (District 27) 

Rep. Timothy Kerner (District 84) 

Rep. Jack McFarland (District 13) 

Rep. Scott McKnight (District 68) 

Rep. Wayne McMahen (District 10) 

Rep. Bob Owen (District 76) 

Rep. Thomas Pressly (District 6) 

Rep. Troy Romero (District 37) 

Rep. Laurie Schlegel (District 82) 

Rep. Alan Seabaugh (District 5) 

Rep. Vinney St. Blanc (District 50) 

Rep. Polly Thomas (District 80) 

Rep. Chris Turner (District 12) 

Rep. Debbie Villio (District 79) 

Rep. Bill Wheat (District 73) 

Rep. Mark Wright (District 77) 

Rep. Jerome ‘Zee’ Zeringue (District 52) 

Overall, 30 legislators were named “All-Stars,” scoring 90 percent or higher on legislation important to LABI and Louisiana employers during the 2021 session. Those All-Stars are: 

Senate President Page Cortez (District 23)  

Sen. Mark Abraham (District 25)  

Sen. Mike Fesi (District 20)  

Sen. Cameron Henry (District 9)  

Sen. Patrick McMath (District 11)  

Sen. Barry Milligan (District 38)  

Sen. Barrow Peacock (District 37)  

Sen. Mike Reese (District 30)  

Sen. Kirk Talbot (District 10)  

House Speaker Clay Schexnayder (District 81)  

Rep. Beryl Amedee (District 51)  

Rep. Tony Bacala (District 59) 

Rep. Daryl Deshotel (District 28)  

Rep. Raymond Crews (District 8)  

Rep. Julie Emerson (District 39)  

Rep. Les Farnum (District 33)  

Rep. Larry Frieman (District 74)  

Rep. Dodie Horton (District 9)  

Rep. Tanner Magee (District 53)  

Rep. Joe Marino (District 85)  

Rep. Danny McCormick (District 1)  

Rep. Blake Miguez (District 49)  

Rep. Buddy Mincey (District 71) 

Rep. Nicholas Muscarello (District 86)  

Rep. Richard Nelson (District 89)  

Rep. Chuck Owen (District 30)  

Rep. Neil Riser (District 20)  

Rep. Rodney Schamerhorn (District 24)  

Rep. John Stefanski (District 42)  

Rep. Phillip Tarver (District 36)  

Rep. Francis Thompson (District 19) 

Legislators named as “Honorable Mentions,” scoring 80 percent or higher on legislation important to LABI and its members during the 2022 session are:  

Sen. Louie Bernard (District 31)  

Sen. Franklin Foil (District 16)  

Sen. Jeremy Stine (District 27)  

Sen. Glen Womack (District 32)  

Sen. Stewart Cathey (District 33)   

Rep. Michael Echols (District 14)  

Rep. Aimee Freeman (District 98)  

Rep. Greg Miller (District 56)  

Rep. Kathy Edmonston (District 88)  

Rep. Joe Orgeron (District 54)  

Rep. Lance Harris (District 25)  

Rep. Sherman Mack (District 25)  

Rep. Stephanie Hilferty (District 94)  

Rep. Valerie Hodges (District 64)  

Rep. Roy Daryl Adams (District 62)  

Rep. Larry Bagley (District 7)  

Rep. Stuart Bishop (District 43) 

To review a full list of those honorees, please click HERE for LABI’s 2022 Legislative Scorecard. 


The Louisiana Association of Business and Industry was organized in 1975 to represent Louisiana businesses, serving as both the state chamber of commerce and state manufacturers association. LABI’s primary goal is to foster a climate for economic growth by championing the principles of the free enterprise system and representing the general interest of the business community through active involvement in the political, legislative, judicial and regulatory processes. Find out more information at