LABI Logo Get Involved

LABI Releases 23rd Annual Legislative Scorecard

October 6, 2021

Baton Rouge, LA (October 6, 2021) – The Louisiana Association of Business and Industry (LABI) today released its 2021 Legislative Scorecard, highlighting legislators inside the State Capitol who supported pro-business legislation in this year’s regular session. LABI, the state’s chamber of commerce and manufacturing association, worked with a bipartisan group of legislators, stakeholders and local collectors to create a plan for a centralized sales tax system in Louisiana—one which would streamline tax collection to make the state more competitive and business friendly. The passing of this bill, among others, was considered when tallying the scores of legislators.

“It was a vital objective of LABI’s to pass the bill for a centralized sales tax collection, and many men and women at the Capitol worked tirelessly to make that happen,” said Stephen Waguespack, president and CEO of LABI, who notes that its constitutional amendment must still be approved by voters on November 13. “Our Legislative Scorecard highlights the champions of this legislation, as well as others, who voted for a better business future.”

In addition to a centralized sales tax plan, legislators also passed bills to simplify Louisiana’s tax code while tackling transportation funding, transparency and education recovery solutions. This year’s LABI Scorecard spotlights those game-changing issues and the legislators who supported them.

“This legislative session produced some huge wins for Louisiana businesses, including the largest increase in infrastructure investment in nearly 40 years,” said Terry Baugh, chairman of the board for LABI. “Thankfully, this Legislature recognized the current condition of roads and bridges across our state as an impediment to economic competitiveness and chose to be bold in addressing it.”

In the end, votes on 16 key bills were scored, issues prioritized by LABI members with their expertise and input through a number of issue councils, and cemented in LABI’s annual Program of Work that guides the organization’s advocacy. The criteria outlined in the Program of Work determines the weight each piece of legislation carries throughout the session and guides the final votes selected for the annual analysis.

The Scorecard, which for decades has served as a valuable tool for LABI members and the public in knowing where Louisiana’s legislators stand on game-changing business issues, is also featured as a special section within the pages of LABI’s new statewide business publication, 5th & Main, which hits mailboxes this week. It can also be read digitally here.

“Our Louisiana Legislature enacted meaningful bipartisan measures that will truly help shape a better climate for economic opportunity: meaning jobs for Louisiana,” said Waguespack. “I urge you to look over our scorecard, and help us celebrate our champions of free enterprise at such a critical time for our economic recovery.”

For more information on the pair of tax reform amendments on the November 13 ballot, visit


This year, 88 lawmakers scored above 80 percent on bills LABI identified as important to Louisiana businesses.

Leading those high scores, 40 legislators were named as “Most Valuable Policymakers” (MVPs), scoring a perfect 100 percent on bills important to LABI and the state’s business community. Those members are:

Senate President Page Cortez (R-Lafayette)
Sen. Mark Abraham (R-Lake Charles)
Sen. Stewart Cathey (R-Monroe)
Sen. Heather Cloud (R-Turkey Creek)
Sen. Mike Fesi (R-Houma)
Sen. Cameron Henry (R-Metairie)
Sen. Sharon Hewitt (R-Slidell)
Sen. Patrick McMath (R-Covington)
Sen. Barry Milligan (R-Shreveport)
Sen. Robert Mills (R-Minden)
Sen. Beth Mizell (R-Franklinton)
Sen. Barrow Peacock (R-Bossier City)
Sen. Mike Reese (R-Leesville)
Sen. Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)
Sen. Bodi White (R-Central)
House Speaker Clay Schexnayder (R-Gonzales)
Rep. Beryl Amedee (R-Houma)
Rep. Tony Bacala (R-Prairieville)
Rep. Beau Beaullieu (R-New Iberia)
Rep. Raymond Crews (R-Bossier City)
Rep. Phillip DeVillier (R-Eunice)
Rep. Michael Echols (R-Monroe)
Rep. Rick Edmonds (R-Baton Rouge)
Rep. Julie Emerson (R-Carencro)
Rep. Les Farnum (R-Sulphur)
Rep. Barbara Freiberg (R-Baton Rouge)
Rep. Ray Garofalo (R-Chalmette)
Rep. Jonathan Goudeau (R-Lafayette)
Rep. Tanner Magee (R-Houma)
Rep. Danny McCormick (R-Oil City)
Rep. Wayne McMahen (R-Minden)
Rep. Richard Nelson (R-Mandeville)
Rep. Chuck Owen (R-Rosepine)
Rep. Thomas Pressly (R-Shreveport)
Rep. Troy Romero (R-Jennings)
Rep. Laurie Schlegel (R-Metairie)

Rep. John Stefanski (R-Crowley)

Rep. Phillip Tarver (R-Lake Charles)
Rep. Chris Turner (R-Ruston)
Rep. Jerome Zeringue (R-Houma)

Overall, 21 legislators earned the ranking of “All-Stars,” scoring 90 percent or higher on legislation important to LABI and the state’s employers during both sessions. Those All-Star members are:

Sen. Bret Allain (R-Franklin)
Sen. Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
Sen. Ronnie Johns (R-Lake Charles)
Rep. Ryan Bourriaque (R-Abbeville)
Rep. Jean-Paul Coussan (R-Lafayette)
Rep. Larry Frieman (R-Abita Springs)
Rep. Foy Gadberry (R-West Monroe)
Rep. Lance Harris (R-Alexandria)
Rep. Valarie Hodges (R-Denham Springs)
Rep. Mike Huval (R-Breaux Bridge)
Rep. Sherman Mack (R-Albany)
Rep. Scott McKnight (R-Baton Rouge)
Rep. Blake Miguez (R-Erath)
Rep. Greg Miller (R-Norco)
Rep. Buddy Mincey (R-Denham Springs)
Rep. Joseph Orgeron (R-Larose)
Rep. Bob Owen (R-Slidell)
Rep. Alan Seabaugh (R-Shreveport)
Rep. Polly Thomas (R-Metairie)
Rep. Debbie Villio (R-Kenner)
Rep. Mark Wright (R-Covington)

Legislators named as “Honorable Mentions,” scoring 80 percent or higher on legislation important to LABI and its members are:

Sen. Louie Bernard (R-Natchitoches)
Sen. Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
Sen. Rick Ward (R-Port Allen)
Sen. Glen Womack (R-Harrisonburg)
Rep. Larry Bagley (R-Stonewall)
Rep. Stuart Bishop (R-Lafayette)
Rep. Ronda Butler (R-Ville Platte)
Rep. Dewith Carrier (R-Oakdale)
Rep. Paula Davis (R-Baton Rouge)
Rep. Daryl Deshotel (R-Marksville)
Rep. Mary DuBuisson (R-Slidell)
Rep. Gabe Firment (R-Pollock)
Rep. Bryan Fontenot (R-Thibodaux)
Rep. Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)
Rep. Stephanie Hilferty (R-Metairie)
Rep. Dodie Horton (R-Haughton)
Rep. John Illg (R-River Ridge)
Rep. Barry Ivey (R-Baton Rouge)
Rep. Mike Johnson (R-Pineville)
Rep. Tim Kerner (R-Lafitte)
Rep. Joe Marino (I-Gretna)
Rep. Jack McFarland (R-Jonesboro)
Rep. Nicholas Muscarello (R-Hammond)
Rep. Neil Riser (R-Columbia)
Rep. Rodney Schamerhorn (R-Hornbeck)
Rep. Francis Thompson (D-Delhi)
Rep. Bill Wheat (R-Ponchatoula)

This year’s LABI MVPs, All-Stars and Honorable Mentions will be honored by LABI members on November 11, 2021, at the annual LABI Free Enterprise Awards reception alongside other businesses and individuals who have proven their exemplary commitment and contributions to their local communities and improving the state’s business climate. More information on the LABI Free Enterprise Awards reception can be found at

LABI encourages Louisianans to visit to review this year’s report explaining LABI’s 2021 priorities, the outcomes of the recent sessions, descriptions of the bills used in the Scorecard analysis, the individual legislative scores and the detailed methodology behind the scores. Printable posters of legislative scores are also available by region and can be downloaded on the LABI website.